Open Space Committee

Regular Meetings

  • 7:00 p.m.
  • The 4th Monday of every month
  • Town Hall
    25 Green St.
    Ipswich, MA 01938

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes | View All Archived Agendas and Minutes Prior to 2013


  • Andrew Brengle (2021) Co-Chair
  • Wayne Castonguay (2021) Co Chair
  • Katie Banks Hone (2021)
  • Erin Coates-Connor (2021)
  • Jeff Denoncour (2021)
  • Andrea Lacroix (2021)
  • Ralph Williams (2021)


About the Committee

The Ipswich Open Space Committee is a volunteer committee that meets monthly to pursue town goals related to the conservation and protection of open space properties throughout town. It was formed in the mid-1980s as a subcommittee of the Conservation Commission, and it prepared the town's first 2 open space plans in 1979 and 1985.

By 1990, the state's guidelines for open space plans had changed to require significantly more information and analysis, so, under the leadership of volunteer Jim Berry, the town approved forming a standing committee at Town Meeting in 1992. Open space plans were completed in 1994 and 2000.The town's open space plan was updated again in 2006, 2010, and 2013. The most current version of the plan is 2020. The most recent versions of the plan can be linked to here. Additionally, the Open Space Committee oversees the town's Open Space Bond land acquisition program, which is described in detail here.